RHCE header banner

Regional Health Command Europe
SCAADL Information and Packet request

scrolling image frame decoration

RHCE Warrior Transition Office

To be eligible to receive SCAADL, a Soldier must meet all of the following criteria:

  1. Be determined by a DoD or VA-licensed physician to have a permanent catastrophic injury and need assistance from another person to perform the personal functions required in everyday living or require constant supervision to avoid harm to self or others.

  2. Be determined by a DoD or VA-licensed physician to require hospitalization, nursing home care, or other residential institutional care in the absence of such assistance.

  3. Be an outpatient and no longer an inpatient at a military treatment facility, VA medical center, civilian hospital, nursing home, or other residential institutional care facility. Although individuals may be temporarily placed in an inpatient status for tests, examinations, or treatment, they remain eligible for the full monthly SCAADL payment if they are an outpatient at least 16 cumulative days a month.

  4. Have a designated primary caregiver who provides assistance with at least one of the following ADL due to the Soldier’s:
    1. Inability to dress or undress.
    2. Inability to bathe or groom in order to stay clean and presentable.
    3. Frequent need of adjustment of any special prosthetic or orthopedic appliances which, by reason of the particular disability, cannot be done without aid. This does not include the adjustment of appliances that routinely require assistance from another person, such as supports, belts, lacing at the back, etc.
    4. Inability to attend to toileting without assistance.
    5. Inability to eat meals through loss of coordination of upper extremities or through extreme weakness or inability to swallow.
    6. Inability to guard against hazards or dangers incident to a regular, daily environment.

  5. In addition to meeting at least one of the criteria in paragraphs D(1) through (6) of this enclosure, the Soldier must:
    1. Require continual medical management or be at high risk for personal safety and unable to live independently in the community without caregiver support.
    2. Require hospitalization, nursing home, or other residential institutional care, unless caregiver support provides personal care services at home in an ongoing manner.
    3. Receive no concurrent services by another federal entity.
    4. Not be returned to duty by a physical evaluation board.

  6. Be unable to perform the duties of their office, grade, rank, or rating.

  7. Receive final eligibility certification from the unit commander or service designated representative.

Is SCAADL automatic?

No, the Soldier or guardian must apply, and a DOD or VA physician certifies eligibility.

Requesting a SCAADL Packet:

  1. Send email to usarmy.sembach.medcom-rhc-e.mbx.wto-e-scaadl@mail.mil with the following information:
    1. Soldier’s Rank   Last Name, First Name  
    2. Primary Medical Provider (Rank   Last Name, First Name / email address / DSN phone number)
    3. Unit Commander (Rank   Last Name, First Name / email address / DSN phone number)

  2. Once email request is received, the RHCE WTO SCAADL Certifying Official will send DD Form 2948 to the Primary Medical Provider and the Commander’s Statement to the Unit Commander.

  3. Upon receipt of the DD Form 2948 and Commander’s Statement, the RHCE WTO SCAADL Certifying Official will process the SCAADL for approval or disapproval.

  4. If the SCAADL Packet is approved, the RHCE WTO SCAADL Certifying Official will process the SCAADL entitlements through DFAS.

  5. If the SCAADL Packet is disapproved, the Soldier may appeal the decision based off of the following reasons:
    1. Eligibility Criteria
    2. Tier level

How are amounts determined?

SCAADL payment amounts are based upon the U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics wage rate for home health aides and are adjusted by:

  1. The geographic area of residence/recovery

  2. A three-tier system based on the complexity of care, as determined by a DOD or VA physician, and uses a clinical evaluation and score. The member is rated as follows:

    1. High Tier: Soldier who scores 21 or higher will be presumed to need a full- time caregiver who provides 40 hours of personal care services per week.
    2. Medium Tier: Soldier who scores 13-20 will be presumed to require 25 hours per week of caregiver assistance.
    3. Low Tier: Soldier who scores 1-12 will be presumed to require 10 hours of caregiver assistance per week.

How long can a Soldier receive SCAADL?

SCAADL is paid to a Soldier until he/she is separated from the service or until they no longer require assistance with activities of daily living. SCAADL will end the earliest of:

  1. 90 days after separation from the service
  2. Receipt of compensation under the VA program
  3. Soldier’s recovery; or
  4. Last day of the month during which the Soldier dies

If the Soldier is transitioning out of the military, notify the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) of impending transition to ensure application procedures of the VA’s monthly caregiver stipend are initiated prior to separation from service.

Does SCAADL need to be recertified?

Yes, every 180 days.

Can I designate a military member as my primary caregiver?

No, a military member cannot be designated as a primary caregiver for purposes of SCAADL.

Is SCAADL tax-exempt?

No, SCAADL is taxable compensation.

I was authorized a Non-Medical Attendant (NMA). Does that mean I will automatically qualify for SCAADL?

No, Soldiers who have been authorized an NMA should not assume entitlement to SCAADL. NMAs are authorized by physicians and designated by the Soldier. However, there is no stringent clinical review applied to this designation as there is with SCAADL.